comedy

I like to consider myself a funny person. I enjoy cracking jokes and making others laugh and vice versa. I think comedic relief is one of the best ways to put people at ease. It’s friendly and easy.

Some of my favorite celebrities are comedians. Like Tina Fey and Ellen Degeneres. Will Ferrel and others. I admire how they’re able to lighten the mood through satire, parodies or by just being themselves. I also like stand-up comedy and checking out budding comedians. So far some of the acts I’ve seen missed the mark. They were too sexist, racist, or some other -ist. To me, the really funny comedians are the ones who don’t try. They make it seem effortless. Like they’re just telling stories about past experiences, regular ole day to day things. But they are really funny at telling the stories. It’s like having dinner with a group of friends and one of your friends just so happens to bring along another friend and you’re not sure if you’d all get along but that friend of a friend turns out to be so ridiculously funny that everyone feels comfortable. You hit the jackpot during those dinners. And sometimes you hit the jackpot at a comedy club and the entire night is a blast.

That’s my kind of humor.

But there are comedians out there who push limits. They’re the ones trying to make a statement or an image for themselves. They bring up controversial subjects and politics, egging on the left or right by being inappropriate and immature. Those comedians are okay. I might or might not have a good time at one of those shows, but if I were an audience member during that kind of performance I certainly wouldn’t want to hear

“Wouldn’t it be funny if that girl got raped by like, 5 guys right now? Like right now? What if a bunch of guys just raped her…”

That would make me feel uncomfortable.

Now I understand this incident is subjective. Daniel Tosh is controversial, offensive and not for everyone, although I would (have) probably go(ne) to one of his shows (before this incident). Sure I’d find some jokes stupid and voice my opposing opinions by not laughing at the offensive stuff but then again that’s me. Just because an audience member decided to vocalize her disagreement and discomfort in what I don’t think is at all a rude heckle, doesn’t mean he should have used his stage presence to attack her with such a perverse scenario. There are other ways to lighten the mood, move away from the subject, embarrass the heckler and not cause personal offense. Because let’s be honest, rape is a serious topic. Yeah be an ass and make jokes about it, but don’t wish it upon someone, even as a joke. That’s not funny. It’s never funny.

On a lighter note, here’s a clip from an act I saw not too long ago at the Comedy Palace in San Diego. He opened for Carlos Alazraqui of Reno 911 and, more famously, the yo quiero Taco Bell chihuahua. His name is Leo Flowers and I consider him a class act. A comedian I’m sure all audiences would enjoy.

Leave a Reply

