follow your feet

I don’t know many girls who don’t have a closet full of shoes. Shoes are quite important; they keep you from getting tetanus and from stepping in doggie poopoo. They are also the star of a girl’s self-esteem.

Exhibit A: My Dorothy-inspired red Toms.

le Toms roja

They are so hipster-lovable, Toms.  Plus the one for one deal is pretty cool. Like most of my shoes I don’t wear my Toms often, but when I do I like to think I’m in relaxed mode. No rush, just slip them on and off I go. Which is why they came with me on my quick vacation to San Francisco for New Year’s Eve. I couldn’t help but giggle when I saw some natives sporting their Toms, too. I like it when I fit in.

Exhibit B: The revival of the hiking boot.

picnic perfect

I snagged these on sale and decided they were the ideal pair for Europa. I contemplated wearing my hightops and bringing along my boots, but with these babies, I have two in one. Comfortable and European-style appropriate, they were picture perfect for traversing Prague, Vienna, Salzburg and a London hotel.

I have plenty other dearies to swoon about, but I’ll stop here. You see, it’s not actually about the shoes, but where the shoes took me (er, where I took the shoes…). This last year was as turbulent as my last flight, which featured a range of screaming babies and smelly passengers, but overall it had a smooth landing. I managed to make new friends, learn and obsess about yoga, run my first half-marathon, go on a trip to Europe, and visit the grand city of San Francisco twice. I can’t wait to see where the next year will take me. I love my life, and I love living it in my shoes.

Leave a Reply

